RSS Feed

Why I Love Kate Nash

Posted on

Good afternoon, readers!

If you have never heard of Kate Nash, please go here! She is tremendous. Her wit and voice make me wish I had some type of musical talent, but alas, I am stuck here writing and crying over the lack of job opportunities for me.

But enough about me, Kate Nash is an English singer-songwriter whose album “Made of Bricks” completely blew me away. After doing my star struck research, I discovered the little gem that she is an outspoken feminist!

Thanks to Spinner.com, I’d like to share some great quotes from one of my favorite current artists.

“When I was young I was listening to the Spice Girls and Destiny’s Child. I was singing ‘Independent Woman’ and ‘Survivor’, and it was all about Girl Power and being with your friends. I don’t think I was singing, ‘Don’t cha wish your girlfriend was hot like me [Pussycat Dolls lyric]?’”

“It’s really important to be a strong role model. It’s one of my main things because I feel I’ve been exposed in such an extreme way to a lot of sexism. I’ve become aware of being in a very male-dominated industry where a door opens and it’s like, ‘Oh hello, it’s 12 men and me. Again.'”

AND the kicker from Jezebel

“Yes, I’m a feminist. I think everybody should be, because feminism is about equality of the sexes, which we all believe in, don’t we?”

So perfectly summed up, Ms. Nash. It’s refreshing to find such free-thinking, independent talented women ‘making it’ in the business. I just wanted to bring Kate Nash to light, as I tire of only hearing about Alanis Morrisette and Sarah McLachlan (though they are noteworthy as well!)

Who are some of your favorite outspoken feminists, musicians or not?

P.S. For Kate Nash virgins, I suggest “Merry Happy,” “Foundations,” and “The Nicest Thing.” You’re welcome!

Any thoughts?

